Statement on the Chair of the European Movement

Published on December 14, 2022

The Chair of the European Movement, Lord Andrew Adonis, has resigned today [14/12/22], to devote more time to writing and other public interest initiatives. European Movement’s Vice Chair, Molly Scott Cato, will serve as interim Chair until a successor is elected. 

An unrivalled line-up including Lord Michael Heseltine (President), Sir Vince Cable (Vice President) and Caroline Lucas MP (Vice President) continue to lead its political direction. Its Chief Executive, Anna Bird, will continue leading the operational and day-to-day running of the Movement. 

Molly Scott Cato, Vice Chair of the European Movement, said: 

"I am disappointed by this news, but I would like to thank Andrew for his enormous contribution to the European Movement as our Chair. 

"Under Andrew’s leadership, the European Movement has accelerated our membership growth, reformed our governance and defined a clear strategy to campaign' Step by Step' to reverse the calamity of Brexit. 

"Andrew has been a passionate and committed voice for Europe his entire life, so I know he will continue contributing to our Movement. I look forward to campaigning alongside him for many years to come.  

"We are entering a critical stage in the Battle for the Soul of our Country. What we do now will define the pace of our route back to the EU. Our next Chair must be fully committed to that goal whilst continuing to build our Movement across the country. 

"We will shortly begin the task of recruiting a new Chair who, in accordance with our constitution, will be elected by our members." 

Help us put Europe on the political agenda before the general election

Showing 3 reactions